The park is one of the few remaining 'daiba' (battery sites) of the original six built between 1853 and 1854.
Its construction was initiated in direct response to the arrival of Commodore Matthew Perry's 'Black Ships'.
The island is designated as a National Historic Site by the Japanese government.
The name 'Odaiba' translates to 'place of the battery', originating from the name of these very forts.
The park layout has remained largely unchanged since the Meiji period, serving as a rare example of Edo-era military engineering.
Daiba Park, historically known as Dai-san Daiba, is a preserved maritime fortress built by the Tokugawa Shogunate in the mid-19th century to defend Tokyo Bay from foreign ships. The park retains original earthworks, stone walls, and ammunition storage mounds from the Edo period. It is situated on a man-made island connected to the Odaiba mainland via a pedestrian bridge. The site features elevated walking paths that provide unobstructed views of the Tokyo skyline and the Rainbow Bridge. The park area is currently managed as part of the Tokyo Port Terminal Corporation network of waterfront facilities. Visitors can traverse the perimeter to observe the structural remnants of the coastal gun batteries.
The highest point of the southern earthwork wall for a wide-angle view of the Rainbow Bridge and Tokyo Bay.
Wear sturdy walking shoes as the paths consist of uneven gravel and dirt trails.
Bring water as there are no food or beverage kiosks within the park perimeter.
Visit at dusk to see the Rainbow Bridge light up against the skyline.
Do not expect modern park amenities like manicured lawns or benches, as the site prioritizes historic preservation over recreational infrastructure.
Maintain the integrity of the historic stone walls and embankments; do not climb on them.